Tobacco Control in Canada

Effective tobacco control initiatives are important at the community, municipal, provincial, national and international levels. Many provinces and territories have developed tobacco reduction strategies for their populations. Click on the provinces to view their current efforts:

Federal Tobacco Control Strategy
British Columbia
Quebec (French only)
New Brunswick
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island
NorthWest Territories

In addition, organizations such as the Canadian Cancer Society, the Canadian Lung Association, Physicians for a Smoke Free Canada and the National Non-Smokers Rights Association have developed national campaigns and information packages on a variety of emerging issues in tobacco control. These issues include taxation and contraband tobacco, tobacco industry advertising and promotion, plain packaging, and protection from second hand smoke to name a few.

Plain Packaging 

The Government of Canada’s new vision for addressing tobacco use includes modernizing Canada’s approach to tobacco control, introducing a new approach to regulating vaping products, and implementing plain and standardized packaging requirements for tobacco packaging and the products they contain.

Tobacco packages, and the products they contain, have remained powerful promotional vehicles for the tobacco industry to communicate positive brand imagery and attract new tobacco users. The Government of Canada has committed to introducing plain packaging requirements similar to those now in place in Australia and the United Kingdom. 

Bill S-5 introduces amendments to the Tobacco Act to enable the Government to fully implement plain and standardized packaging regulations. The proposed regulations include provisions to restrict elements such as brand colours, logos and graphics on tobacco packages. 

Plain and Standardized Packaging in Canada

On May 1, 2019 the Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Minister of Health, announced new regulations for plain and standardized appearance of tobacco packages and products will begin to come into force on November 9, 2019